Retreats

A DIRECTED RETREAT

During a Directed Retreat you usually meet individually with a director for approximately 45 minutes each day to share what is going on between you and God throughout the day. You may have encountered and responded to God in your formal prayer time, on a walk, during a meal, etc. Together with the director you discern the interior movements of the Holy Spirit. Suggestions for ongoing prayer are often offered. The only general gathering is for a communal service or liturgy. You have plenty of time for personal prayer, rest, spiritual reading, relaxation, listening to music and exercise.

Click below for a Directed Retreat Brochure and Application Form

The Sisters of St. Joseph of Boston have planned the Directed Retreats to be offered with other trained directors and held at Glastonbury Abbey, Hingham, MA.

Within an atmosphere of total silence, there is time for personal prayer, exercise, rest, and liturgy.

Spring Retreat at Nahant, MA

Tuesday, May 5 – Wednesday, May 13, 2020 (8 days)
Joan Duffy, CSJ, Joanne Fantini, CSJ Agrégée

Summer Retreats at Glastonbury Abbey

Wednesday, June 24 – Thursday, July 2, 2020 (8 days)
Wednesday, June 24 – Sunday, June 28, 2020 (4 days)

Joan Duffy, CSJ, Kathleen Short, CSJ, Carol Fitzsimmons, CSJ

Sunday, July 5 – Sunday, July 12, 2020 (7 days)
Sunday, July 5 – Thursday, July 9, 2020 (4 days)

Carol Fitzsimmons, CSJ, Joanne Fantini, CSJ Agrégée, Lyn Ferrara

Tuesday, July 14 – Wednesday, July 22, 2020 (8 days)
Tuesday, July 14 – Saturday, July 18, 2020 (4 days)

Nan Bouché, CSJA, Jane O’Shaughnessy, RSCJ, Joanne Fantini, CSJ Agrégée

Tuesday, August 4 – Wednesday, August 12, 2020 (8 days)
Tuesday, August 4 – Saturday, August 8, 2020 (4 days)

Dorothea Masuret, CSJ, Joan McCarthy, CSJ, Gail O’Donnell, RSCJ

Friday, August 14 – Saturday, August 22, 2020 (8 days)
Friday, August 14 – Tuesday, August 18, 2020 (4 days)

Joan McCarthy, CSJ, Nancy Kehoe, RSCJ, Paula Tinlin, SND

SILENCE: To enhance attentiveness to God’s still voice, a reverent silence is maintained at all types of retreats, including during meals. Background music is played at lunch and dinner.